Findings For Class Post 1

A few days ago, I joined Cosplay.com, the largest online cosplay community on the web. Here I discovered that there are many profiles with pictures of people who all share a common interest and love: Cosplay! 🙂 

Because it is such a large community, there are hundreds upon thousands of members in this singular community. I am still finding my way around cosplay.com, as well as this blog site, and looking to see what I can find, share, and how I can connect with others. 

Things I definitely expected to find and found would be profiles of pictures of cosplays. These people have their cosplay pictures up that link to their profiles and other cosplay pictures, exactly what I’d expect to find. 

What I was looking for for this week was some sort of “About Us,” “FAQ,” and or “Terms and Services.” Where I didn’t find an “About Us” or “FAQ” anywhere, I found a few links at the bottom: “Advertise with Us,” “Privacy Policy,” “Site Rules,” and “Legal.” 

The “Advertise With Us” is for companies who wish to place their adds on the pages of this community to attract customers. 

The “Privacy Policy” is the basic agreement you agree to for any site joining: no cookies, what the site does for your privacy, the commitment the site has for every members’ privacy, and at the bottom, should anyone have questions, there is contact information for the cosplay.com office in Las Vegas, Nevada. 

The “Site Rules” link is probably the best thing relating to what our class discussed we should look into about our site communities because it can say so much about the community and what have been the set expectations for the site. These site rules were incredibly general. No harassment, respect moderators, solicitation from anyone other than who pays for ads is prohibited, and any laws broken among the site members will be dealt with via Nevada law (because the office is in LV). Forum rules follow under the same outline of the General Site Rules. Photo rules demand you be respectful, non-suggestive, PG-13, and they MUST be cosplay related, which I thought was AWESOME! 

The “Legal” link took me to a separate site called “Kern Law Offices,” a law office located and dedicated to Las Vegas, Nevada. I think it is safe to assume that these are the officials who will be consulted upon illegal activity for the community. 

What was really cool to find was on the home page, to the right, there was a column that had the dates of the conventions location, title, and dated for the whole month of May. These cons locations ranged from the U.S., the U.K., Canada, Denmark, the Czech Republic, Germany, Spain, and Holland! I thought it was really cool that this site included so many countries in the convention line-up. What was also really cool was that under one of the U.S. flags, I found the Phoenix comicon, which will take place May 24th to 27th. 🙂 

Another thing I thought I would mention was that these conventions are listed by date and location over two months from now. Why do you think that is? 🙂 

4 thoughts on “Findings For Class Post 1

  1. I really like the focus on non-suggestive photos, and PG-13 ratings. This adds a level of seriousness to the site, and the expected interactions. It could also indicate a need to be taken seriously. How do people usually react when you tell them you do Cosplay? This reaction, or your unwillingness to talk about this hobby (I don’t want you to consider hobby derogatory in anyway, I’m just unsure what else to call this) could be reasons the non-suggestive rule is pretty much the only rule. Continue following this site and see what you find for your final paper. So far it seems really interesting!

    • Thanks for your comment! Calling cosplay a hobby is actually perfect, because that is what it is! It’s just a rather expensive, time consuming, and sometimes painful (needle prick-wise) form of a hobby.
      The non-suggestive rule refers to revealing photographs or sexually hinting cosplays. Since there are so many revealing cosplays out there, the site generally asks that members be appropriate for their viewers.
      As for how people react when I tell them I cosplay, they usually scoff a little and I believe they try to look down on me from there. But since it is actually more than watching anime, which is most definitely not only for children, until others experience it for themselves, they don’t really truly understand.
      One way to try to see what it is like making a cosplay would be to watch “Heroes of Cosplay” on the SyFi channel!

  2. Jaclyn,
    This website is so fitting for you, I’m really interested to see where you take this! I was unfamiliar to cosplay, in fact you were the first person I have ever met who told me about it. Now that I know how it works, it seems like such a cool, creative hobby and I would love to see one of your costumes sometime. After checking out cosplay.com it psyched me out to create my own cosplay…Sailor Moon (Sailor Mars). Maybe one day after I’m not taking 18 credit hours. I like that your website seems pretty low key and basic, providing entertainment and a great source for people to be inspired by others who are interested in cosplay.

    • Thanks for your post!
      This is just a small bit of how involved cosplay can get! People spend months, occasionally years for the perfect cosplay!
      Sailor Mars, a.k.a. Raye, can be a very fun creation and there are so many different looks out there! When you try to get a cosplay pulled together, let me know if you need help…and if you want to show it off at a con! It’s the most fun when you get to show off your hard work and be proud of the time and dedication you spend in it!
      Btw, you will see a cosplay in class before the end of the semester. That I can promise you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

